The management advisory board represents all areas of the livestock sector. Members bring a valuable international perspective to the research conducted at Livestock Gentec.

Management Advisory Board

David Andrews
(Chair) Lazy A Farms Ltd.

David, along with his family, operates Lazy A Farms Ltd and is a long time advisor for Livestock Gentec. David has also served on a number of industry groups, including the chairing the Alberta Cattle Commission (now ABP) and as a director to the Canadian Cattlemen’s Association, with 2 years served as President.

Cherie Copithorne-Barnes
CL Ranches Ltd.

Cherie, along with her family, operates CL Ranches and is a new addition to the Livestock Gentec MAB. Cherie was the founding Chair of the Canadian Roundtable for Sustainable Beef and is currently Director for the Calgary Stampede.

Stan Blade
University of Alberta

Stan is the Dean of the Faculty of Agricultural, Life and Environmental Sciences at the University of Alberta. Stan was raised on a grain and dairy farm and currently serves as a board member for Phytola, Alberta Biodiversity Monitoring Institute, Genome Alberta, Biological Greenhouse Gas Management Program and Alberta Rural Development Network.

Francois Eudes
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Francois is the Alberta Director of Research, Development and Technology for Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC), located at the Lacombe Research Station. Francois received a PhD in plant science from the University of Laval and his research focuses on genetic engineering in cereals.

Bob Kemp
Genesus Inc.

Bob is Vice President of Research and Development, and Genetic Programs at Genesus Inc. Bob is also the President of RAK Genetic Consulting Ltd., providing genetic improvement consulting, technical support and research and development services to the swine and beef industries. He currently sits on the Board of Directors for PigGen Canada.

Sean McGrath
Round Rock Ranching

Sean, along with his family, operates Round Rock Ranching, which focuses on beneficial management practices for environmental stewardship. Sean has helped conduct research at the University of Alberta in carbon sequestration and participates in programs such as Alternative Land Use Services (ALUS) and Land EKG.

Graham Plastow
Livestock Gentec CEO

Graham is a Professor at the University of Alberta in the Department of Agricultural, Food and Nutritional Sciences and is the CEO of Livestock Gentec. Graham has led or participated in numerous international research collaborations and has served on boards/committees for groups such as Roslin Institute, Genesis Faraday Partnership, Biotechnology Research and Development Corporation, as well as CTO of Sygen International.

Dawn Trautman

Dawn is the manager of corporate innovates at SVG Ventures, THRIVE. She has an MSc in agricultural and environmental economics as well as an MAB from the University of Alberta. Dawn also worked for several years at the Director of Knowledge Translation and a Project Manager for Livestock Gentec and as a manager of Agri-Food Innovate at Alberta Innovates.

Brian Van Doormaal

Brian is the Chief Services Officer for Lactanet Canada. Brian was the General Manager of the Canadian Dairy Network for its 24 years of existence before the creation of the Lactanet Canada Partnership. Brian is also a member of the Genetics Evaluation Board and has been involved in essentially all current genetic evaluation systems and services in Canada.

Past Members

Steven Morgan Jones
Past Chair
Fred Lozeman
Beef Industry
Stewart Cressman
Swine Innovation Porc
Cornelia Kreplin
Alberta Innovates